Welcome to my glorious mess.

Staying motivated through setbacks…

Posted in Uncategorized by Dom Brady on February 27, 2009

I’ve had a nice share of setbacks the past month.   I’ve used these setbacks to make excuses on why I should feel sorry for myself and slow down this work grind of mine.   Momentum is a powerful thing and it swings both ways.   Excuses like:

  1. My gear is dusty
  2. I need upgrades
  3. I’m broke
  4. Nobody appreciates this work

…excuses like that can sap energy.   I’ve allowed it to.   That’s fine.  It ends here.   Yeah, I’m broke.  I don’t get paid for the various press outlets I work for anymore.   That’s cool, too.   I didn’t take on those “jobs” for the money.  At the time I had a steady gig and these were outlets for expression, for amplifying Atlanta’s talent.  It would be weird for me to now expect for these things to pay the bills.   They probably will never pay the bills.  

And that’s the crux of it, isn’t it?  To be in a creative space, part of this new American creative economy with a ripe sense of American exceptionalism, entitlement.    Nobody owes me anything.  

The work should speak for itself.   I’ve been standing in the way of it, not allowing it to in many ways.   

This is a note, an apology, a dear diary letter to myself, my listeners and those I’ve interviewed.

It is what it is, it is what it will no longer be.

Best,

Dom

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dseals said, on February 28, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I hear you on the momentum. For real. Stay up man!

  2. jermiside said, on March 4, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Bro, I feel every word you wrote here. Can’t do nothing but keep it movin’ and I know you will. Great blog btw


Leave a Reply

